The Goetz Palace in Brzesko is a combination of the beauty of aristocratic traditions and the wealth of cultural and historical values.

Architectural beauty of the region

It was designed by a prestigious architectural studio from Vienna and built in 1898. It is also one of the most magnificent residences of the late 19th century.

The main body, together with the side wings connected by galleries, the Chapel and the Orangery, constitute an impressive structure.

Palace interiors

Intricate details

The interiors are decorated with figural and ornamental stucco on ceilings, tapestries, antiquated mirrors, profiled wooden ceilings, wall lamps and chandeliers, and floor patterns. Remained there also a few works of art, stained glass, furniture and paintings, copies of the works of Spanish, Flemish and Italian Baroque paintings.

Kryształowy żyrandol na suficie ozdobionym złotymi motywami roślinnymi w sali bankietowej Pałacu Goetz
Widok z góry na budynek Pałacu Goetz i fontannę w ogrodzie

English garden

In the heart of a picturesque park

Around the palace there is a 14‑hectare English-style park with a beautiful old stand of trees. From the original nature of the palace park, 11 natural monuments, 43 species of trees (also exotic ones) and 12 species of shrubs have been preserved.


The Palace Chapel witnessed many beautiful religious ceremonies of the Goetz family. It also performs this function today – religious ceremonies are held here for our guests. The wedding or baptism ceremony taking place in the same place as the party on this occasion is certainly a huge advantage of the Palace. Not only because of the comfort of the invited guests, but also for organizational and logistic reasons .

The chapel and the choir can accommodate 100 people. It is under the jurisdiction of St. James Parish and is frequently visited by the its priests.

Ołtarz w Kaplicy przygotowany na ceremonię ślubu w Pałacu Goetz
Wnętrze Kaplicy w Pałacu Goetz przygotowane do ceremonii ślubu
Wnętrze Kaplicy w Pałacu Goetzów z widokiem na chór

Palace renovation

Restore former beauty

The palace building has been restored with the greatest attention to detail, in close cooperation with the monuments conservator. The elegant banquet halls, the hunting hall and the Atrium with unique wooden stairs have regained their former splendor and aristocratic soul to be able to again delight visiting guests with their unique beauty.

A bit of history


Okocim Brewery

The history of this place is inextricably linked with the ancestor of the Polish Goetz line, Jan Baptiste, who in 1845 came from Württemberg to Okocim to set up a brewery with his Polish partner.

A great man who not only looked after the brewery’s interests, but also its employees. In his philanthropic and social activities, he built schools, churches and libraries, helping the inhabitants of Galicia, which was poor at that time.


Palace Construction

The Palace was built by the second generation of the Goetz family, Jan Albin, who brought up by his father in the Polish spirit, legitimized his name in the already noble family as Jan Albin Goetz Okocimski.

Jan Albin not only turned out to be an efficient manager of the entire estate, but also an unparalleled industrialist, the king of beer, the architect of the strength of the Okocim brewery, a philanthropist and patron of the arts.

Similar to his father, he was sensitive to social, political and economic matters of Poland, and his commitment was recognized with the Commander’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.


Amidst the Great Depression

The most difficult period in managing the estate occurred during the rule of the third and last generation of the Polish Goetz line, Antoni Jan.

The global economic crisis caused a lot of problems in maintaining the brewery, and the specter of bankruptcy was averted only thanks to wise decisions and gratitude of employees, of whom, despite the crisis, no one lost their job.


Emigration of the Goetz family

When the brewery and the entire estate were back on their feet, the final blow came in the form of World War II. Encouraged to sign the volkslist and move to the fifth column, Antoni Jan flatly refused, as he considered himself a Pole. This sealed his fate and the fate of his estate.

Escape, emigration and the new political system in Poland put an end to his return to Okocim forever. He died in the capital of Kenya, running a cozy tea room with his wife for the rest of his life.

On October 21, 2017, after 55 years, Antoni Goetz’s ashes were brought to Poland and placed in the crypt of the parish church in Okocim.


Post-war fate of the Palace

Pursuant to the decree on nationalization of 1944, the Palace and the adjacent park became the property of the State Treasury.

It was decided to locate a school in the Palace and until 2002 the building served as a school building for high school students.


When the last school bell stopped ringing

Until 2002, there were two schools here: High School and Economics Schools Complex.

After moving them to new buildings, the Palace was abandoned and put under the management of the District Starosty in Brzesko.


Tender Procedure

Pursuant to the resolution of 26 June 2007, the District Council decided to sell the Palace by tender, with the right of pre-emption by the heirs of the Goetz family. Pursuant to a notarial deed of 30 November 2007, the former seat of the Goetz family was returned to them.


Sale of the Palace

Due to the disastrous technical condition of the building and the need for complete renovation, the heirs sold the Palace in Okocim to a private investor, who undertook the renovation and restoration of its former glory.


Start of renovation works

The major renovation was originally planned for 2 years. Unfortunately, the expert opinions carried out before the commencement of works did not show the actual technical condition of the building, which resulted in the fact that the scope of works necessary to be performed has significantly expanded.


Regained beauty

Ultimately, the main body and the west wing were put into use 4 years later than expected.


Completion of work

The renovation of the east wing was completed in 2020.

Visiting the Palace

Visiting the Palace by individual tourists takes place on designated dates, about which we inform you through social media and information on the website. Organized groups can visit the Palace after prior appointment. The sightseeing is guided and lasts approx. 1 hour.

We do not currently offer individual reservations.